Ce document est destiné aux journalistes, juristes, médecins et à tout autre membre intéressé du public en général.

Faits généraux

Date de fondation: Novembre 1982
Première réunion: Hollywood, CA
Nombre approximatif de réunions hebdomadaires au Canada et aux États-Unis en 1994: 2 000 (Il y a 25 réunions hebdomadaires à Londres, Angleterre en 1997)

Définition des Cocaïnomanes anonymes

Les Cocaïnomanes anonymes sont une association de toxicomanes en rétablissement qui se réunissent dans plusieurs villes des États-Unis, du Canada et d'autres pays. On retrouve présents à la même réunion d'une dizaine à une centaine de membres, tout dépendant de la localité. La définition suivante provient de notre documentation et est souvent lue lors de nos réunions:

"Les Cocaïnomanes anonymes sont une association d'hommes et de femmes qui partagent entre eux leur expérience, leur force et leur espoir dans le but de résoudre leur problème commun et d'en aider d'autres à se rétablir de la cocaïnomanie. La seule condition pour en devenir membre se résume à un désir de cesser l'usage de la cocaïne et de toute autre substance qui altère le comportement. Il n'en coûte rien pour devenir membre. Nous suffisons à nos besoins par nos propres contributions. Les Cocaïnomanes anonymes ne sont associés à aucune secte, religion, groupe, association politique, organisation ou institution. Nous ne nous engageons dans aucune controverse, nous n'endossons ni ne contestons aucune cause. Notre objectif premier est de se libérer de l'usage de la cocaïne et de toute autre substance qui altère le comportement, et d'en aider d'autres à acquérir cette même liberté.* Nous nous servons des Douze Étapes pour le rétablissement, car il a été prouvé qu'avec le programme des Douze Étapes, ça marche."

*Définition adaptée et reproduite avec la permission de A.A. Grapevine Inc.

Structure des Cocaïnomanes anonymes

Les Cocaïnomanes anonymes ne sont pas une organisation formelle dans le sens politique du terme. Il n'y a pas de dirigeants, de règlements, de cotisation ou d'honoraires. Bien que nous soyons guidés par les Douze Traditions des Cocaïnomanes anonymes, chaque groupe est libre de conduire ses affaires comme il l'entend, tel que formulé dans la 4e Tradition: "Chaque groupe devrait être autonome, sauf sur les points qui touchent d'autres groupes ou l'ensemble du Mouvement."

Cependant il est primordial pour l'association d'aider les toxicomanes à travers le monde. Nous devrons répondre aux demandes d'aide et de renseignements nous parvenant de l'intérieur et de l'extérieur de l'association. La documentation doit être rédigée, imprimée et distribuée et un suivi est effectué lorsqu'on reçoit une demande d'aide. L'organisme principal desservant l'association des Cocaïnomanes anonymes est celui des Services Mondiaux localisé au Bureau des Services Mondiaux à Los Angeles en Californie. On y retrouve des bénévoles et certains employés qui assurent les communications avec les groupes locaux et avec les gens qui ne font pas partie de la fraternité et qui demandent de l'information au sujet des C.A. et de notre programme de rétablissement. La documentation approuvée par la Conférence des Services Mondiaux et les jetons sont préparés, imprimés et distribués par le biais de ce bureau.

Le Bureau des Services Mondiaux répond directement au Conseil d'Administration des Cocaïnomanes anonymes et celui-ci doit en retour répondre à la Conférence des Services Mondiaux . Les Administrateurs sont les gardiens des Douze Traditions des Cocaïnomanes anonymes et se font les interprètes des politiques affectant C.A. dans son ensemble.

La Conférence des Services Mondiaux des C.A. se rencontre annuellement afin d'unifier l'association et de discuter des points qui toucheront le Mouvement dans son ensemble. Elle est composée de délégués provenant de toutes les régions de l'association, des membres du Conseil d'administration des C.A. et des directeurs et employés du Bureau des Services Mondiaux . Ensemble ils s'entendent sur la meilleure façon de transmettre le message au cocaïnomane qui souffre encore à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de l'association. Les comités de Littérature, Hôpitaux et Institutions, Information Publique, Congrès ( responsable du Congrès annuel des Services Mondiaux ) et de l'Unité se partagent le travail alors que les comités de Conférence, Finance et Structure et règlement s'occupent de la régie interne de l'association.

Toute la structure des services des Cocaïnomanes anonymes est basée sur notre 9e Tradition: "Comme Mouvement, les Cocaïnomanes anonymes ne devraient jamais avoir de structure formelle, mais nous pouvons constituer des conseils ou des comités de service directement responsables envers ceux qu'ils servent."

Le principe de rotation constante des fonctions s'applique à toutes les responsabilités de service dans C.A. Les tâches changent selon la conscience de chaque groupe. Les RSG représentant leurs groupes à la région sont élus pour un mandat défini par le groupe. Les responsables de la région ainsi que les délégués sont élus par la conscience de groupe de la région. Tous ces officiers sont des serviteurs de confiance.

Politique financière des Cocaïnomanes anonymes

Depuis ses débuts, l'association des Cocaïnomanes anonymes a adopté une Tradition qui dit que nous nous supportons par nos propres contributions et que nous n'acceptons pas d'argent des non-membres. Les dépenses occasionnées au niveau du groupe ( loyer, café, jetons et documentation ) sont défrayées par la collecte faite à chaque réunion. Dans la plupart des groupes, un certain montant est mis de côté de façon régulière afin de supporter le Bureau des Services Mondiaux et les bureaux régionaux.

Le point de vue des Cocaïnomanes anonymes sur la toxicomanie

Les C.A. se préoccupent seulement du rétablissement et de la sobriété des gens qui ont joint la fraternité afin d'obtenir de l'aide. Les Cocaïnomanes anonymes ne s'impliquent pas dans le domaine de la recherche médicale en toxicomanie, des traitements médicaux ou psychiatriques, dans l'éducation ou la propagande d'aucune sorte, quoiqu'individuellement ses membres peuvent exercer de telles activités.

La fraternité a adopté une politique de coopération sans affiliation avec les organismes concernés par les problèmes de toxicomanie. Les C.A. n'endossent, ne supportent ou ne s'affilient jamais et n'expriment pas d'opinions sur les autres programmes de rétablissement. Les C.A. ne prennent aucune position sur des sujets étrangers - incluant la légalité ou l'illégalité des drogues - et toute autre controverse publique.

Les relations qu'entretiennent les C.A. avec les associations professionnelles, les agences, mouvements et individus dans le domaine de la toxicomanie sont du ressort du Comité de l'Information Publique. La compréhension mutuelle et l'esprit de collaboration entre les membres des C.A. et les gens aidant les toxicomanes doivent prévaloir. C'est d'ailleurs la principale préoccupation du Comité de l'Information Publique et de ses membres siégeant au Conseil d'administration des C.A.

Relations Publiques

Voici un extrait de la politique des Relations Publiques des Cocaïnomanes anonymes:

Dans toutes ses relations publiques, l'objectif primordial des C.A. est d'aider le toxicomane qui souffre encore. Nous insistons sur l'importance de l'anonymat, et croyons qu'en partageant avec lui ou avec une personne voulant l'aider nos expériences communes en tant qu'individus souffrant de toxicomanie nous pouvons lui faire connaître une association où l'on apprend à vivre sans cocaïne ou autre substance altérant le comportement *. Nous croyons que notre expérience devrait être partagée avec ceux qui expriment un désir sincère d'en connaître plus long. Nous sommes convaincus que tous nos efforts dans ce sens devraient refléter notre sentiment de gratitude pour ce cadeau qu'est la sobriété et le fait que nous savons que plusieurs personnes à l'extérieur des C.A. sont concernées par le sérieux problème de la dépendance.

Toutes les démarches concernant l'information et les relations publiques au niveau de l'association en général sont du ressort du Comité de l'Information Publique.

Les journalistes sont les bienvenus lors des réunions ouvertes ainsi qu'aux événements publics s'ils ont au préalable obtenu la permission des responsables de la région. La seule restriction imposée est qu'ils préservent l'anonymat des membres présents en ne divulguant pas leurs noms. ( pour des raisons évidentes, il est interdit de prendre des photos aux réunions des C.A. ).

Dans plusieurs régions, les membres des C.A. ont formé des comités d'information publique et de coopération avec les hôpitaux et les professionnels de la communauté qui agissent au niveau régional et assistent les médias locaux dans l'obtention d'information exacte au sujet de notre association.

Les Cocaïnomanes anonymes offrent les services suivants au grand public:

  • Conférenciers, pour les secteurs professionnels et de l'éducation, décrivant notre organisation et le Programme de Rétablissement.
  • Groupe de conférenciers invités pour ceux qui sont reclus dans les hôpitaux et institutions.
  • Livres et autre documentation pour les professionnels de la communauté et leurs patients.
  • Référence aux groupes locaux qui pourront animer ces dernières activités

Si vous désirez plus d'information, ou aimeriez commander de la documentation, adressez-vous au Bureau des Services Mondiaux à cawso@ca.org

Vous pouvez rejoindre directement le Comité de l'Information Publique à pubinfo@ca.org

*Adapté avec la permission d'Alcoholics Anonymous World Services, Inc.

L'importance de l'anonymat

Traditionnellement, les membres des C.A. ont toujours préservé leur anonymat au niveau public: devant la presse, la radio, la télévision et le cinéma. Nous avons appris, avec l'expérience, que de nombreuses personnes ayant des problèmes de toxicomanie hésiteraient à se joindre à nous, si elles avaient le moindre doute que leurs problèmes puissent être révélés par d'autres, même par inadvertance. Les nouveaux venus devraient être en mesure de recevoir de l'aide en ayant l'assurance que leur identité ne soit pas divulguée à personne à l'extérieur de l'association.

Nous croyons que le concept d'anonymat personnel a pour nous une signification spirituelle. En effet, cela décourage tout désir de gloriole, de prestige ou de gain qui ont pu causer des problèmes dans certaines sociétés. La majeure partie de notre efficacité dans l'aide apportée aux toxicomanes disparaîtrait si nous recherchions ou acceptions d'être reconnus du public.

Alors que chaque membre des C.A. est libre d'interpréter les Traditions des C.A., aucun individu n'est autorisé à agir en tant que porte-parole des C.A., que ce soit au niveau local, national ou international. Chaque membre n'exprime que son opinion personnelle.

Les Cocaïnomanes anonymes apprécient énormément le fait que l'on renforce et observe la Tradition de l'anonymat dans tous les médias. Le Bureau des Services Mondiaux envoie périodiquement à tous les médias une lettre décrivant cette Tradition et demandant leur support dans le respect de cette Tradition.

Il arrive parfois qu'un membre des C.A., pour diverses raisons, brise volontairement son anonymat au niveau public. Cela est une question de conscience et de choix personnel. L'association dans son ensemble n'y peut rien. Il est cependant évident qu'une pareille conduite n'obtient pas l'approbation de la grande majorité des membres des C.A.

Les réunions des Cocaïnomanes anonymes

Réunions ouvertes:

Comme leur nom l'indique, ces réunions sont ouvertes aux toxicomanes, à leur famille ainsi qu'à toutes les personnes intéressées à résoudre un problème de drogue ou à en aider d'autres à s'en sortir. La participation directe est cependant limitée au toxicomane.

Réunions fermées:

Ces réunions sont limitées aux toxicomanes. Ceux-ci ont alors l'occasion de chercher entre eux des solutions à leurs problèmes et de partager des solutions qui les aident à rester abstinents.

Réunions avec conférenciers:

Lors de ces réunions des membres des Cocaïnomanes anonymes partagent entre eux leur vécu, leurs pensées et leurs sentiments sur un sujet déterminé par la personne qui anime la réunion.

Réunions à participation:

Lors de ces réunions , des membres des Cocaïnomanes anonymes partagent entre eux leur vécu, leurs pensées et leurs sentiments face à un auditoire majoritairement composé de membres de notre association.

Des variations et des combinaisons de ces réunions existent.

page d'accueil | en anglais | lignes/sites | qu'est-ce que C.A.? | sondage | 12 étapes + 12 traditions
d'information publique | littérature | le newsgram | auto-examen | commencer une réunion | prochains événements | congrès des CAWS
contact cawso | purchase | email webservant

Ce site internet (www.ca.org) émane de Cocaine Anonymous® World Services, Inc. (CAWS). Tout matériel incluant sans restriction les marques de commerce, les droits de reproduction et tous les autres droits, présenté et inclus dans les présentes pages et toutes les autres pages les accompagnants, est la propriété avec droits d'auteur de CAWS. Il est permis d'y entrer et d'y emmagasiner du matériel pour usage personnel, sans droit de propriété individuelle. Tout autre droit est entièrement réservé. Cocaïnomanes anonymes n'est pas affilié à Alcooliques anonymes ou toute autre organisation semblable.

Nous regrettons de ne pouvoir offrir des liens avec des sites qui ne sont pas C.A. Ceci est du à notre longue tradition voulant que nous n'endossions pas des entreprises extérieures qu'elles soient reliées ou non à nos objectifs. Tout en étant reconnaissant pour tous les liens avec d'autres sites internet , nous n'endossons aucun produit, service ou opinion offerts par des organisations extérieures.

Les droits de reproduction de ce site © 1996 - 2011 Cocaine Anonymous World Services, Inc. "C.A.", "Cocaïnomanes Anonymes", "Nous sommes ici et nous sommes libres" et le logo CA sont des marques de commerce enregistrées de Cocaine Anonymous World Services, Inc. Version 3.0. Tous droits réservés.

Pour tout commentaires techniques ou questions à propos de ce site: webmaster@ca.org

Copyright © 2011 CAWS. All rights reserved.

Visit our library of C.A. Literature

Cocaine Anonymous World Services   Cocaine Anonymous in English or French
  We're Here and We're Free (tm)
     

Cocaine Anonymous Fact File

 

Download the C.A. World Service Conference Public Information Committee's Fact File (Rev. Jan 2008) in PDF format: Click here.

View our current Public Service Announcement (30 seconds). Please note the file size; download may take some time, depending on the speed of your connection:

To Download, click the download link above and save the file to your local system, then double-click to open the compressed folder to access.

For Hospitals & Institutions, we have prepared a longer video (2 minutes 30 seconds). Please note the file size; download may take some time, depending on the speed of your connection:

The material presented on this page is intended for use by journalists, court officers, the medical profession, and other interested parties among the public-at-large. For more information, and higher-bandwidth versions of these videos, please refer to our Service pages for Public Information and Hospitals & Institutions.

Definition of C.A. | The Structure of Cocaine Anonymous | Financial Policy
C.A.'s Position on the Subject of Addiction | Public Relations
The Importance of Anonymity | Cocaine Anonymous Meetings

General Facts

Founding date: November, 1982

First meeting: Hollywood, California, U.S.

Approximate Number of Weekly Meetings (U.S. and Canada, 1994): 2,000 (155 meetings a week are in operation in England as of Dec. 2008 with another 19 each week in Scotland)

A Definition of Cocaine Anonymous [BACK TO TOP]

Cocaine Anonymous is a fellowship of recovering addicts throughout the United States, Canada, and other countries whose members meet in local groups. The following definition of "Cocaine Anonymous" is found in our Fellowship's literature and is often read at meetings of CA:

"Cocaine Anonymous is a fellowship of men and women who share their experience, strength and hope with each other that they may solve their common problem, and help others to recover from their addiction. The only requirement for membership is a desire to stop using cocaine and all other mind-altering substances. There are no dues or fees for membership; we are fully self-supporting through our own contributions. We are not allied with any sect, denomination, politics, organization or institution. We do not wish to engage in any controversy and we neither endorse nor oppose any causes. Our primary purpose is to stay free from cocaine and all other mind-altering substances, and to help others achieve the same freedom.* We use the Twelve Steps of Recovery, because it has already been proven that the Twelve-Step recovery program works."

*Reprinted and adapted with permission of A.A. Grapevine, Inc.

The Structure of Cocaine Anonymous [BACK TO TOP]

Cocaine Anonymous is not organized in the formal or political sense. There are no governing officers, no rules or regulations, no dues or fees. While we are guided by the Twelve Traditions of Cocaine Anonymous, each group is generally free to conduct its business as it sees fit, as stated in Tradition 4: "Each group should be autonomous except in matters affecting other groups or C.A. as a whole."

However, the need for services to addicts throughout the world is very important to the Fellowship. Inquiries from both within and outside the Fellowship have to be answered. Literature has to be written, printed and distributed, and requests for help be followed up. The main service body of the Fellowship is C.A. World Services, which is centered at the World Service Office in Los Angeles, California. Here employees and service volunteers maintain communications with local Groups and with persons outside the Fellowship who turn to C.A. for information on the program of recovery. C.A. Conference-approved literature and chips are prepared, published and distributed through this office.

The World Service Office, through its Board of Directors, is responsible to the World Service Board of Trustees. The Trustees, who serve as custodians of the Traditions of Cocaine Anonymous, as well as interpreters of policies affecting C.A. as a whole, in turn are responsible to the World Service Conference.

The World Service Conference meets annually to unify the Fellowship and consider those actions which affect the Fellowship as a whole. Comprised of Delegates from all the recognized Areas of C.A., as well as the Trustees and the World Service Office Board, the Conference considers how best to carry the message of recovery from cocaine addiction to those outside, as well as inside, the meeting rooms of Cocaine Anonymous. Committees of the Conference cover various areas that affect carrying that message of recovery: Literature, Hospitals and Institutions, Public Information, Convention (responsible for the annual World Service Convention), and Unity. Other Committees address the internal functions of the Fellowship: Conference, Finance, and Structure & Bylaws.

All of the service structure of C.A. is based on our 9th Tradition: "C.A. as such ought never be organized, but we may create service boards or committees directly responsible to those they serve."

The principal of consistent rotation of responsibility is followed in all C.A. service positions. Positions in the local Group are rotated according to a vote of the Group. Representatives to the local service organization are voted on at the Group level -- according to a schedule defined by each Group. Officers of the local service organization, as well as the Conference Delegates, are elected based on the group conscience of these representatives. All such officers, delegates, and representatives serve at the pleasure of their electors.

Financial Policy [BACK TO TOP]

Since its beginning, Cocaine Anonymous has affirmed a tradition of being fully self-supporting and of not accepting contributions from non-members. Expenses at the group level for rental of meeting places, coffee and refreshments, literature, etc., are met by "passing the hat." In a majority of groups, an amount is set aside regularly for the support of the World Service Office and their local service office.

C.A.'s Position on the Subject of Addiction [BACK TO TOP]

C.A. is concerned solely with the personal recovery and continued sobriety of individual addicts who turn to the fellowship for help. Cocaine Anonymous does not engage in the fields of drug addiction research, medical or psychiatric treatment, drug education, or propaganda in any form -- although our members may participate in such activities as individuals.

The Fellowship has adopted a policy of "cooperation but not affiliation" with outside organizations concerned with the problem of addiction. C.A. never endorses, supports, opposes, becomes affiliated with, or expresses any opinion on, the programs of others in the field of addiction. C.A. has no position on outside issues -- including the legality or illegality of drugs -- or any other public policy.

C.A.'s relations with professional groups, agencies, facilities, and individuals involved with the problems of drug addiction are handled by the Public Information Committee. Mutual understanding and cooperation between C.A. members and others who work with addicts are the concerns of this standing committee of the World Service Board.

Public Relations [BACK TO TOP]

Cocaine Anonymous has adopted the following as its Public Information Policy:

In all public relations, C.A.'s sole objective is to help the still-suffering addict. Always mindful of the importance of personal anonymity, we believe this can be done by making known to him and to those who may be interested in his problem, our own experience as individuals and as a Fellowship in learning to live without cocaine and all other mind-altering substances.**

We believe that our experience should be made available freely to all who express sincere interest. We believe further that all our efforts in this field should always reflect our gratitude for the gift of sobriety and our awareness that many outside C.A. are equally concerned with the serious problem of addiction.

Information and public relations matters affecting the Fellowship as a whole are the concern of the Public Information Committee of Cocaine Anonymous World Services.

Reporters are welcome at open meetings and events of C.A., with prior approval of the local service body. The only restriction is a request to bear in mind the importance of anonymity, by not disclosing the name of any C.A. member. For obvious reasons, cameras are not permitted at C.A. meetings.

In many areas, C.A. members have formed local committees on public information and cooperation with the professional community, to assist local media in obtaining accurate information about our Fellowship.

Cocaine Anonymous offers the following services to the general public:

  • Speakers (in both professional and educational settings) describing our organization and its program of recovery.
  • Speaker panels for addicts confined in hospitals or other closed institutions.
  • Books and other literature for both members of the professional community and their clients or patients.
  • Referrals to local chaptersfor help with the above activities.

If you have a need for more detailed information, or would like to order some of our literature, please contact our World Service Office staff at cawso@ca.org

To contact the Public Information Committee directly, please use pubinfo@ca.org

**Adapted with permission of Alcoholics Anonymous World Services, Inc.

The Importance of Anonymity [BACK TO TOP]

Traditionally, C.A. members have always taken care to preserve their anonymity at the public level: press, radio, television and films. We know from experience that many people with drug problems might hesitate to turn to C.A. for help if they thought their problems might be discussed publicly, even inadvertently, by others. Newcomers should be able to seek help with complete assurance that their identities will not be disclosed to anyone outside the Fellowship.

We believe that the concept of personal anonymity has a spiritual significance for us: It discourages the drives for personal recognition, power, prestige, or profit, that have caused difficulties in some societies. Much of our relative effectiveness in working with addicts might be impaired if we sought or accepted public recognition.

While each member of C.A. is free to make his or her own interpretation of C.A. Tradition, no individual is ever recognized as a spokesperson for the Fellowship locally, nationally, or internationally. Each member speaks only for themselves.

A C.A. member may, for various reasons, "break anonymity" deliberately at the public level. Since that is a matter of individual choice and conscience, the Fellowship as a whole has no control over such deviations from Tradition. It is clear, however, that they do not have the approval of the group conscience of C.A. members.

Cocaine Anonymous is grateful to all media for their assistance in strengthening and observing the Tradition of anonymity. Periodically, the C.A. World Service Office sends to all major media a letter describing the Traditions and asking their support in observing it.

Cocaine Anonymous Meetings*** [BACK TO TOP]

Open Meetings:

As the term suggests, meetings of this type are open to addicts and their families and to anyone interested in solving a personal drug problem or helping someone else to solve such a problem. Direct participation, however, is usually limited to addicts.

Closed Meetings:

These meetings are limited to addicts. They provide an opportunity for members to share with one another on problems related to using patterns and attempts to achieve stable sobriety.

Speaker Meetings:

This type of meeting involves one or two sober members voluntarily sharing their thoughts and feelings at length.

Participation Meetings:

This type of meeting involves individuals voluntarily sharing their thoughts and feelings with each other.

***Variations and/or combinations of these meetings exist.

home | en francais | phones/links | what is ca | survey | 12 steps + 12 traditions
PI fact file | literature | newsgram | self-test | starter kit | events | caws convention
contact cawso | purchase | contact webservant

This World Wide Web site (www.ca.org) is a publication of Cocaine Anonymous® World Services, Inc. ("CAWS"). All material, including, without limitation, trademarks, copyrights and all other rights, presented or included herein, including all subsidiary pages, is owned and/or copyrighted by CAWS. Permission is granted to download and store this material for individual, non-proprietary use only. All other rights are fully reserved. Cocaine Anonymous is not affiliated with any other Anonymous organization.

We regret being unable to offer links to non-C.A. sites, due to our longstanding tradition of non-endorsement of outside enterprises, whether related to our goals or not. While we are grateful for all links from other Web sites, we do not endorse any product, service or opinion offered by any outside organization.

NOTE ON "PDF" FILES...
These files are in ".PDF (Portable Document File) format" and require the free "PDF file viewer". PDF format is not endorsed by C.A. but is used as the Internet standard format for printed publications, such as the C.A. NewsGram and convention registration forms.

NOTE ON "FLASH" MOVIES...
These movies require the free "Flash player". Flash player is not endorsed by C.A. but is used as an Internet standard format for audio and video content on this website.

This site copyright © 1996 - 2010 Cocaine Anonymous World Services, Inc. " C.A.", "Cocaine Anonymous", "We're here and we're free" and the C.A. Logo are registered trademarks of Cocaine Anonymous World Services, Inc. All rights reserved.

Please direct technical comments or questions about this site to webservant@ca.org.

Copyright © 2010 CAWS. All rights reserved.

Local Cocaine Anonymous Events Contact Cocaine Anonymous Cocaine Anonymous Literature Cocaine Anonymous Service About Cocaine Anonymous Cocaine Anonymous Meetings